How do I get my website to show up at the top of Google search results?

October 31, 2006

Starting a new website?  How do you get traffic to our new web site?  This is the million dollar question, and if you are an E-Commerce site this could literally be a million dollar question.  Most of us are familiar with Google but for those of you who are not Google is a diversified company but made famous initially by their search engine.   If you are one of the few who have not searched the Internet using Google, check it out at http://www.Google.com.

It seems the majority of web users are now using Google to find websites based upon their needs.  Needs vary from purchasing items on-line, looking for services or simply finding answers to a specific question.  Some examples may be

As a site owner the goal is to have your site come up as early in the search results as possible.  Whether you are selling services or products you desire the searcher finds your company as early in the search results as possible before they find a competitor who can meet their needs.  The concept is simple but getting your site to come up as early in the search results is not that simple and takes a lot of tweaking. 

According to Google:

PageRank Explained

PageRank relies on the uniquely democratic nature of the web by using its vast link structure as an indicator of an individual page’s value. In essence, Google interprets a link from page A to page B as a vote, by page A, for page B. But, Google looks at more than the sheer volume of votes, or links a page receives; it also analyzes the page that casts the vote. Votes cast by pages that are themselves “important” weigh more heavily and help to make other pages “important.”

Important, high-quality sites receive a higher PageRank, which Google remembers each time it conducts a search. Of course, important pages mean nothing to you if they don’t match your query. So, Google combines PageRank with sophisticated text-matching techniques to find pages that are both important and relevant to your search. Google goes far beyond the number of times a term appears on a page and examines all aspects of the page’s content (and the content of the pages linking to it) to determine if it’s a good match for your query.

In Laymen’s terms for your site to gain better Page Rank the following aspects play a big part

  1. The more sites that link to your site the better.  The higher the volume the site linking to your site the more valuable the link is to your search results.  An example, if your site had a link from Microsoft to your site that would be much more valuable then having a link from a website that does not generate a lot of traffic (number of people accessing the site over a given period of time).  That being said, getting links to your site is not always an easy task.  For the small business this really is not an option unless you post content that other find extremely useful.  The competition is fierce so the number one factor in gaining the best search results is branding.  If you can get your company’s name out there and people search specifically for that you are in the best situation.
  2. Content is crucial.  You need to anticipate what your clients would be searching for and gear your content towards those search criteria.  For example, for our site http://www.SpartanSoft.net we anticipate people would be searching for Website development so we tried to stress that fact in our content.

That being said it is not easy to get your site to show up in the top of the search results without a bit of help.  Another consideration is that the Google architects are always tweeking their search engine ranking engine.  I have experimented following the best practices I have found throughout the Internet and unfortunately it takes a long time to tweek your content to show up as high a ranking as possible.

Another option is paid advertising using Ad-Words but that is another article coming soon….

One of the best articles I have ever read on explaining the mystery of Google page ranking can be found here (it is a little technical but not to complicated)
Google Page Rank Explained

166 Responses to “How do I get my website to show up at the top of Google search results?”


  1. Hotel Time Out is located in Sandanski Bulgaria. Sandanski is well known resort throughout Europe. Sandanski has unique climate best known to have a miracle impact on people suffering from asthma and upper respiratory diseases.

  2. Avril Clark Says:

    I would like this site to be displayed on google is this possbile and how do i go about it
    thank you

  3. Chris Pond Says:

    Hello Avril,
    I searched for your site on google and it does currently show up. I would recommend creating a Google account and look at their Web Master tools where you can create a site map to help it in indexing your site.

    If you need any help in setting this up please let me know.

    Regards, Chris

  4. vicki moult Says:

    Hi

    Can you please tell me how I would go about ensureing that when using the google search engine my customers are able to see my website.

    Please help.

    Thanks


  5. Hello,

    I am rather new to this whole website business…
    I now have a website set up and want to get it showing on google!!! now being a tad slow on these thigns has nto helped so any advice you can give will be greatly appreciated!!! I am by no means rich and would like to maximise my website with as little cost as possible if any!!!! not too concenred about bein gin top of search just want to be able to find website through google!!!

    Please help!!!!

    Thanks

  6. Ashley Says:

    Debt Collectors online

  7. biplob Says:

    I want to show this site to be displayed on google search is this possbile and how do i go about it
    thank you


  8. Hotels in ooty, Ooty Hotels, Budget Hotels, Hotels ooty India

  9. rajni Says:

    i want to have my site on the top 10 ranking pages.please tell me how to do it

  10. rajni Says:

    i want to have my site on the top 10 ranking pages.please tell me how to do it.

  11. Tom Kellen Says:

    I need all the help I can getfor people to find me.How can I get my web store on pages to find my st.Thank You.Tom Kellen

  12. Tom Kellen Says:

    Need help getting my webstore on pages so people can find me.Thanks Tom

  13. Tomo Says:

    Well I Can’t read all that and I have a website for free on “webs” and its a good site and all for a beginer but i need more traffic just advertising is the problem. If anyone could visit my site it would be great! http://www.tomo-086.webs.com

    Thanks!!!

  14. Leona Beadle Says:

    I would like to know how to get my web site in the top 10 on google with a low cost can you please respond and let me know how to do this.

    Thank You,
    Leona Beadle


  15. please help me to make my website top ten.it is for orphans and street children in nepal.


  16. please help me to make my website top ten.

  17. Ajay kumar Says:

    sir i hosted my my website in .com . i want to show in google how it is possiable

  18. Josef Says:

    Looking to find the site theravenest.com show up on google!!!!

  19. matthew Says:

    HELP!!! I know nothing about websites but I payed this company to put our company and website on top of google and they just gave me the run around and said it was googles issue so I quit using them and am trying to do this myself but i’m so lost can someone send me in the right direction?


  20. Mia Bella Soy Candles

  21. katie Says:

    hey i want to get on google my web how do i

  22. Paul Says:

    I wanted to say that it’s nice to know that someone else also mentioned this as I had trouble finding the same info elsewhere. This was the first place that told me the answer. Thanks.

  23. Ultra Says:

    Great post. How often do you update this blog, also, if you don’t mind me asking…where did you get this wordpress theme from? Tx!


  24. Sunilkushwahjalesar, jalesarbookdepot

  25. Jeff Says:

    http://www.YourFloridaRealtyBlog.com is my website that I just started and I expect to use what I’ve learned from here to get a higher page rank. Great info!!!


  26. Please My website to show up at the top of Google search results. many user in online


  27. my website to show up at the top of Google search results

  28. Becker Says:

    If you wrote a movie, what would the title be?


  29. This is Kundan Shekhawat From Beawar.
    Now Become A Software Eng. From NIIT Beawar Center


  30. Please consider my domain in your google search or give us the easy way to do that

    w/r Mubarak Ali

  31. Fanning Says:

    Did you go to war? What was it like?

  32. Ali Says:

    hello hi hw r u wellcome in there

  33. craig Says:

    i feel your pain i’m in the same situation i opened a webstore as well, selling harley davidson gifts and apparel i made it into search results but no where near the top when you search my products…anyway check out my site http://www.nimrodsharleyhut.com and give me any feed back


  34. ALL kinds of Books.


  35. Contact for : All kinds of Books.

  36. sagher Says:

    plz koi mere id par pics and videos send kar do my id is =awan_striker@yahoo.com


  37. i`ve got a new website and want to know how i can list it on google and the other search engins


  38. want to know how i put my website on google national and international


  39. we undertake commericial and household goods

  40. carymellover Says:

    Great info! Now I know exactly what to do, thanks!

    http://www.paragraphsoflove.com


  41. Thanks so much for the tips, very useful information and we’ll be sure to implement it for both our websites, the one listed above and http://www.LastingImpressionsSeniors.com. Thanks again!

  42. Anna Says:

    Hi, thanks so much for your advice. Any idea on what I can do to get my website to show up?

    http://www.linkmyrecruiter.com

    I’ve tried Adwords but it’s expensive and hasn’t been much help. I’d love to get on Monster, CareerBuilder, etc. but I’m not sure.

    Any help is welcome! Thanks !!!

  43. ahmed Says:

    free photoandvedioandthemes

  44. sammie3546 Says:

    Hello everyone please visit my website it is Sammie3546.wordpress.com If you share my website I will share yours just post your website name in the comments.

  45. sabour shah Says:

    sabour shah Gujar khan


  46. No1 Travel & Tourism Portal in the world

  47. Farouk Says:

    that was useful
    thank u

  48. jamal ahmad Says:

    here are all kinds of producst available

  49. nun yo biz Says:

    my apple is orange


  50. i like ur issues and also get the information regarding my queries.

  51. forum Says:

    Oil and Acrylic paintings!!!

  52. parvez Says:

    rehindal group

  53. michelle Says:

    how long does it generally take for backlinks to show? i’ve submitted to several directories but not all of them show up on backlink checker.

    i also have my links on all my youtube videos and none of these backlinks show, when my competitors have lots of youtube links showing

    thanks

  54. prince kumar Says:

    A service of real state by Sale Rent


  55. You Can check the price of mobile phones reapering ….online

  56. irshad Says:

    please visite and vote me please

  57. shaun Says:

    Thnx for this info getting ranked in google seems to be a great deal harder than being found in yahoo and some other search engines

  58. michelle Says:

    greart article – useful info!

  59. HaroonJaved Says:

    We are real manufacturer Sports goods Products .

  60. moonjaws Says:

    It’s hard for sure, we’re just completing a new site and the very first question (well after what, how and for who) was how to get found. We not live yet but this really helps. Thanks, great post


  61. touch me touch to world

  62. KG Says:

    How do I get my website to show up on google with kind of table like i.e. with two columns and three rows?

  63. nick Says:

    visit companyx8.zzl.org if you are interested in a military experience

  64. Manikandan Says:

    How do i get my website on top 10 ranking in Google and yahoo?


  65. Good tips you have written here since I’m a newbie in SEO.


  66. I have a photobooth business I started with my wife. I have searched for booths in are area but very few come up.
    I feel its the best time to promote business but the cost is so high. Is it possible for someone with basic internet knowledge spending a few hours a day to get to the top ten on Google?

  67. hakim Says:

    plz i have problem i cant have visiteur in my website i neet help plz

  68. anshul Says:

    Embeddedwithanshul.blogspot.com thats my blog,,..but i do not get much traffic for it…what to do?

  69. M. Carol Clifton DeMott Says:

    How can I get my wig site to show up under wigs in Google? Wild4Wigs.com Design Studio Thank you

  70. Kabeer Says:

    DOWNLOAD NEW MALAYALAM
    TAMIL
    BOLLYWOOD
    HOLLYWOOD..etc MOVIES ,SONGS MP3 ,VIDEO SONGS ,

    LIVE TV ALL 100% worked

    LIVE MOVIES
    MALAYALAM
    TAMIL
    BOLLYWOOD
    HOLLYWOOD..etc

    DOWNLOAD ALL GAMES THEMES SOFTWARE APPLICATIONS PHOTOS VIDEOS

    ONLINE RESULTS
    ONLINE SERVICES.

  71. Tothian Says:

    Thanks for the advice.

  72. Musa mgijima Says:

    huh I like things


  73. All mp3,video,photo,ringtone,game & software free free


  74. helping to unprotected and poor children for education

  75. judy phillips Says:

    so every body is computer liliate . but one thing bleeding tv and bleeding radio out then hooking small dish like satellite to tv and to radio .but having no cable was the trick but big satallite at bar down the street motel’s up the streets and by court street in pasco wa . bt every thing in all didn’t have to show space and get wierd cell calls on the tv radio then the moon in orbit showing up and strange now even that nurse pushed the swich to get google plug in on my internet . only thig i asked what it then she goes and downloads it . then in 2009 could type using left and right fingers but now only one . but kinda of quick on left hand when type fast onkey broad. but dad do auto dailing software for phone message’s and software being put in computer . butthen acullacy knowing that internet became autiodailing after to many people getting even collage buff’s at in canada . but but knowing that place’s like sing sing , levenworth ,san quinten , freindship az , mountain pine ridge , yosmite , dustin hill for boys , cleving worth , gulag and other’s are here . but mountain red rose is not the best place for any girl or boy catching .

  76. rabia Says:

    i would like this website to appear on the first page of google

    http://www.printingthestuff.ca

    I have verified this site on google also submitted index. Furthermore i have also indexed pages of site till 100. but google is not crawling my site . Please solve my problem.

  77. Arshdeep Says:

    Download softwares for youre mobile for java j2me,java symbian,android,windows

  78. Arshdeep Says:

    Download letest softwares for youre mobile phone


  79. pls my website riocasy to show up at the top of Google search


  80. i want to show my web riocasy.com on top Google search

  81. weightlosshub Says:

    I’m trying to get my website to the top of the search engine for cupcakes DC, but the website that’s always on top has a reality show, websites, blogs and thousands of write ups on hundreds of sites. How do I compete with that? http://www.savvytreats.com.

  82. smartfutureformkr Says:

    I have create a new site how to make it public it is share market research site with tips

    http://integratedonline.blogspot.in/


  83. Hi
    i tried for more than 6 months but my website Dubai Properties still not shows in first five pages. give me some suggestion to improve my seo skills. thanks


  84. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  85. Chris Says:

    We are here to serve the south la. Area for all your skirting, deck & carport needs call today 337 504 2413


  86. This specific post, “How do I get my website
    to show up at the top of Google search results?
    Web Technology 101 – SpartanSoft” displays the fact that you really understand what you’re talking about! I actually absolutely agree with your post. Thanks ,Jeremiah


  87. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i
    subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided
    me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear
    concept

  88. Related Site Says:

    Currently it seems like WordPress is the top blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?


  89. Found these comments very helpfull keep up t
    he good work

  90. hilest Says:

    very helpful difinately i will tell my friend to visit there

  91. hilest Says:

    nice very helpful diffinetly i will tell my friend to visit there for further

  92. Omkar prasad Says:

    Download all mp3 songs+videos+games+ringtone so on


  93. you’re truly a good webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a great task on this topic!

  94. eaaax.com Says:

    Older individuals should increase water and green green coffee bean extract
    for weight loss intake. These pills will increase your
    metabolism by recreating the conditions in your body, this supplement has stirred a little controversy
    because of the way we work or live.

  95. Demetra Says:

    I seldom leave a response, but I browsed a few of the responses on this page How do I
    get my website to show up at the top of Google search results?
    | Web Technology 101 – SpartanSoft. I actually do have a few questions for you if
    you don’t mind. Could it be just me or do some of these responses look like they are left by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are writing at other places, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you post a list of the complete urls of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


  96. how to get top page on google search

  97. arwajhussain Says:

    arwaj cunstuction and education , kalikapur, kaliachak

  98. arwajhussain Says:

    arwajhussain- vill- kalikapur,kaliachak, email-arwaj@arwaj.com


  99. Last of all you have to understand where to find the very best online games, undercover dress your counting abilities, and
    become mentally geared up for some unpleasant short-term sacrificing periods.
    In case your primary 2 charge cards are the exact same,
    like 7, 7 or Queen, Queen, you are able to separated all of them
    along with produce a couple of distinct hands-adding another gamble associated with identical worth
    on your unique bet.

  100. arwajhussain Says:

    hi , i am arwaj ,15yearold, kaliachak model academy


  101. arwajhussain join facebook, mutul friend- iam arwaj , and mahfuj rahman


  102. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  103. reseau vdi Says:

    You can increase live brand experience, live marketing representative awareness and customer loyalty without resorting to price promotions or giveaways, establish highly-qualified
    leads and enhance your customer database. It’s not just the one from your company.

  104. arwajhussain Says:

    kaliachak model academy


  105. I have designed a blogspot sites submitmysites.blogspot.com.Is it possible to show at the top of the search engine though it is a blogspot sites.


  106. We are leading Software Development and Network Solutions company bringing together various technologies. We are focused on delivering the best and most cost-effective solutions to our clients in areas such as e-finance, e-business, banking networking etc. We are at coresoftworld Technologies provide quality and professional web design, web development, offshore website development and offshore software outsourcing services to customers from all over the world.

    Arvind upadhyay.


  107. Useful web art of home

  108. Funto Says:

    I would like this site to be placed on all google search Engines thanks, keep up the good work ggle

  109. sureshsp Says:

    sureshsp website is so populer new website

  110. sureshsp Says:

    sureshsp nmmmmmmmm

  111. Mr David Says:

    Goodday,

    Are you a business man or woman?
    Are you in any financial mess or do you need funds to start up your own
    business?We offer Private, Commercial and Personal Loans.
    Every interested applicant should contact us via the below contact details. E-mail:loanfinance123@hotmail.com
    Yours Sincerely
    Dr. Peter Evans.
    CEO/CLEARWAY LOAN COMPANY.

  112. sureshsp Says:

    go google optimize seting see where


  113. I wish to see my website Pushpraj Ruhal http://www.pushpraj.com in google at first place

  114. saddam Says:

    how can i share my website


  115. Coresoftworld Technologies is leading professional Software Company in INDIA. Create productive corporeal that boost your Business. We believe that every Tycoon/enterprise has their own way of directing their business and presenting their products/services to their prospects. Our skilled web designers and developers custom create each website as per the individual requirement of the clients putting in their expert ideas to make the dreamlike happen. Offering a whole set of Website Designing Development and Maintenance services, e-commerce website, Software Development, Applications Development, Database Management, and Search Engine Optimization (SEO). We are focused on delivering the best and most cost-effective solutions to our clients in areas such as e-finance, e-business, banking networking etc. that employs only the best talents and technology for serving the client’s needs all around the world. Our highly disciplined approach to every project we undertake gives our customers a positive experience.

    By Arvind upadhyay +91 – 9891786694


  116. Your suggestion is very excellent this site has helped a lot. really I appreciate such kind of topics. It will be very helpful for us.

  117. seowebblr Says:

    Websoftex Software Solution Pvt. Ltd is a software company, extending its services in Website Designing & Development, Custom Software Development and Mobile. Our company is committed to provide Creative, Innovative and quick & quality Website Design Solutions, Website Development, Software Development, E-Commerce, School software, Multi Level Marketing Software, Web site maintenance etc. More: http://websoftex.com

  118. FARUK Says:

    Gp free Internet..

  119. FARUK Says:

    GP FREE INTERNET

  120. FARUK Says:

    Get gp free internet new server


  121. free net tipes,phone tips and other tipes


  122. free net tipes, phone tipes

  123. Carl Says:

    PHPDug Social Poster is social bookmarking software designed to automatically submit domains to websites powered by PHPDug; one of most popular bookmarking scripts in the world. visit this link – http://bit.ly/1j3VTfB


  124. I believe this is one of the so much significant info for me.
    And i’m happy studying your article. However should statement on some normal
    issues, The web site style is great, the articles is
    truly great : D. Just right process, cheers

  125. adultwebcam Says:

    What’s up to all, the contents existing at this website are genuinely remarkable for
    people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.


  126. ϒoսr means of describing tthe ԝhole thing in this iece оf writing іs truly fastidious, all сan easily ƅe aware of it, Thɑnks
    a lot.

  127. Mammie Says:

    Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed
    the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her
    ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!


  128. It’s great that you are getting ideas from this article as well as from our dialogue made here.


  129. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e
    mail.


  130. I got this web page from my buddy who told me concerning this web
    site and at the moment this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative articles
    at this time.


  131. Hiya very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent ..
    Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds
    also? I’m glad to seek out so many helpful information right here in the post, we’d like develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  132. Oyeniyi seun Says:

    I want my website to be public in google


  133. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of space
    . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this information So i am happy to show that I have a very
    excellent uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed.
    I so much certainly will make certain to do not
    disregard this site and provides it a look on a relentless
    basis.

  134. 網路銷售 Says:

    Spot oon with this write-up, I really feel this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks
    for the information!


  135. Alveo
    What’s up, its nice paragraph about media print, we all know media is a great source of information.


  136. Alveo
    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i am happy to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered
    just what I needed. I such a lot unquestionably will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and
    give it a glance regularly.

  137. 魚菜共生 Says:

    Helloo to every body, it’s mmy first go to see of this webpage; this website carries remarkable and in fact
    fine stuff in favor of readers.


  138. Thorn of Girl

    Great details may be uncovered on this website weblog.

  139. raheel Says:

    http://www.rahoster.com
    hosting and domain company ,i will give you a cheap ,fast and safe hosting so dont waste your time and order me .


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

